Fire Awareness Month with Ladder 11

This pass Sunday the Croydon Fire Department had open house to the help spread fire awareness.  The three hour event had on display several fire trucks and a rescue boat that both kids and parents could enjoy. Fire fighters from several different ladders came to help with Croydon’s open house.  I came across the event while I was driving home from my boyfriend’s house…(we both live in Croydon).  I decided to walk up to the fire house with my mother and nephew to get a few good news shots for this week’s assignment.  Everyone there was super friendly, so I did not have any trouble getting photos.

I used a shallow depth of field in this photograph to help emphasize where this particular fire fighter's ladder. i love the angle as well because its a different view of their shoulders.

I used a shallow depth of field in this photograph to help emphasize where this particular fire fighter's ladder. i love the angle as well because its a different view of their shoulders.

DSC_0016

Here are a few of the fire fighters and volunteers that were present for the event. I wanted the sign in the background so that you could have a sense of what was going on and where it is was taken. After all they do not exactly look like a row of fire fighters.

I just liked the poster, I decided to take it from this angle.  I thought that it really gives you the reason of why this event is taking place...fire awareness.  The mustard bottle was annoying because it was blocking the one young man's face.  However I tried to minimize its effects by getting down low for the shot.

I just liked the poster, I decided to take it from this angle. I thought that it really gives you the reason of why this event is taking place...fire awareness. The mustard bottle was annoying because it was blocking the one young man's face. However I tried to minimize its effects by getting down low for the shot.

Now this one is a little ark, but I think that it works.  I love the size proportions because the fire truck is so much bigger than the child.  The child also seems awe struck which is the main reason I love this photo.

Now this one is a little ark, but I think that it works. I love the size proportions because the fire truck is so much bigger than the child. The child also seems awe struck which is the main reason I love this photo.

I love the children's expressions in this one.  They are so excited by the hose, especially the one in the red shirt.  I just think that it so adorable.

I love the children's expressions in this one. They are so excited by the hose, especially the one in the red shirt. I just think that it so adorable.

Same content as the one above, but it shows you the activity that the kids are doing...putting out a pretend fire.  I like the angle as well as the little rainbow I captured at the bottom left corner.  I think that this photo would make it into the newspaper.

Same content as the one above, but it shows you the activity that the kids are doing...putting out a pretend fire. I like the angle as well as the little rainbow I captured at the bottom left corner. I think that this photo would make it into the newspaper.

Okay so this one is quite a spot news type of shot, but I like it a lot.  I only wish that there could have been a fire fighter or child climbing up the side.

Okay so this one is not quite a spot news type of shot, but I like it a lot. I only wish that there could have been a fire fighter or child climbing up the side.

Leave a Reply

