Varsity Girls Field Hockey: Truman vs. Upper Merion

Last night I went to my old high school, Harry S Truman, to take some photos of the Varsity Girls Field Hockey team.  Unfortunately I had missed the JV game because I get done class late on Tuesdays.  I was really disappointed that I missed the Boys Soccer game around 3:30 that day.  However, going to class is more important and I was left to take photos in the dark around 7PM.

I did not stay for the whole game because I was getting disappointed at all the blurry photographs.  The whole hour that I was there I was running back and forth trying to get the best photo possible.  I did not even attempt to pan because  I had to keep my aperture open as wide as possible, which is around only f/6 when I zoom all 200mm.  I tried to keep my shutter at 1/60 because I knew from past experience anything below that would call for a tripod.  Sadly I did not bring my crappy tripod, so I had to rely on my hands.

Even with all these issues, I was still able to capture a few shots that I like.  Now they are super grainy because I was shooting at an ISO of 1600, the highest I can go with my d200.  I did shoot in RAW so that I could at east attempt to fix my photos when I got home.  Well I hope you like my first real attempt at Sports photography.

This is my favorite photograph that I took last night.  I just love the expressions on both of their faces.  They want that ball and they are going to get it.  Ha! I really dislike the random girl in the back.  I wish she was not there or maybe a little more off to the right corner.

This is my favorite photograph that I took last night. I just love the expressions on both of their faces. They want that ball and they are going to get it. Ha! I really dislike the random girl in the back. I wish she was not there or maybe a little more off to the right corner.

Catching some action.

Catching some action.

This is probably one of the only photographs that I got of them standing still and that I liked.

This is probably one of the only photographs that I got of them standing still and that I liked.

I took this during the first half break.  A girl from Upper Merion had been injured so the teams all regrouped for a little pep talk.  I took this as they were jumping saying their little slogan about how they wanted and were going to win.  I wish they had all been holding up their sticks because it would have added more to the photo.

I took this during the first half break. A girl from Upper Merion had been injured so the teams all regrouped for a little pep talk. I took this as they were jumping saying their little slogan about how they wanted and were going to win. I wish they had all been holding up their sticks because it would have added more to the photo.

Fighting for the ball. This is not my favorite, but I do like my composition.  I wish I had taken this in sunlight! ARGH!!!!

Fighting for the ball. This is not my favorite, but I do like my composition. I wish I had taken this in sunlight! ARGH!!!!

One response to “Varsity Girls Field Hockey: Truman vs. Upper Merion

  1. Good post. Night sports are always a challenge.

Leave a Reply

